• Home
  • /Medal for Public Service

Medal for Public Service

Distinguished Service Award2

Each year, the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Foundation awards the Medal for Distinguished Public Service to persons who have served the public good in the private and public sector. The award was established by the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Foundation’s Board of Trustees in 2003 and is presented during a ceremony held in June at the Foundation’s annual dinner in Washington, D.C.

The Gerald R. Ford Medal for Distinguished Public Service recognizes outstanding public contributions by individuals who reflect the qualities demonstrated by President Ford during his public service career: Strength of character, Integrity, Trustworthiness, Fidelity to principles in decision making, Sound judgment, Decisiveness (particularly during periods of crisis), Determination in the face of adversity, Diligence, Self-confidence balanced with respect for the views of others, Self-discipline in personal life.


Past Recipients of the Gerald R. Ford Medal for Distinguished Public Service

2014 Award Recipient: John O. Marsh, Jr.

2013 Award Recipient: Lt. Gen. Brent Scowcroft, USAF (Ret.)

2012 Award Recipient: Thomas P. “Tip” O’Neill

2011 Award Recipient: William T. Coleman

2010 Award Recipient: Dr. Henry Kissinger

2009 Award Recipient: Justice John Paul Stevens

2008 Award Recipient: Carla A. Hills

2007 Award Recipients: James A. Baker & Lee H. Hamilton

2006 Award Recipients: Armed Forces Branches

2005 Award Recipient: Betty Ford

2004 Award Recipient: Dick Cheney & Don Rumsfeld

2003 Award Recipient: Alan Greenspan